Hello all!
Just wanted to share a run in I had with a nurse this week. First, I'd like to say that until now I have got along really well with most of teh nurses and see it as a definite benefit to work with them on our team.
So I discretely noticed one day, this new nurse, who was treating a couple of my patients. He had left my patient (who has global aphasia and is not cognitively fully there) in his wheelchair by an open door (to the public hallway) completely pantless and exposed. I was trying to find him (the nurse) anyways but when I saw this I rushed to find him. I found him wlaking out of another paients room who was way down the hall!!!! I decided not to say anything but asked him what his plan was with the patient as I was wanting to take him to physio when he was ready. He said he was showereing him and told me to come back in 1/2 hour. I thanked him and went on to my next patient.
The next thing I know, the ward was crazy, patients were being reshceduled left right and center and my schedule for the morning was thrown out the window. This, as I'm sure all you can relate to, is something that happens all the time! So anyways when I went by him in the hall a little later, he rudely asked me if I was going to see the patient. I said "yes, as soon as I could find the other physio as he was a double so it might be a while". He then said "well that's great! I bent my back over to get him ready for you and you;'re not even going to see him now, thanks alot!". I was quite surprised at this! He was obvioulsy in the process of showereing the patient in the first place (as he was half naked) and I really didn't understand how he could yell at me like that.
Anyways, no real moral to the story as I never saw him again. But some people can be so grumpy and try to ruin your day for no good reason. Jeez!!
Nic
Saturday, March 3, 2007
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment